Restores Facebook disabled & # 39; View as & # 39; feature used in 2018 violation

Facebook revives a version of a privacy feature that it disabled last year after hackers misused it to steal users' tokens – the keys that allow users to continue to log in to Facebook without having to re-enter their password each time they use the app.

The stolen access tokens gave attackers access to all the data of the affected users, including everything that you can see, read, download or change when you log in to Facebook.

Facebook discovered the breach in September.

Initially, the company thought that 50 million accounts had been affected and set it back another 40 million as a precautionary measure. In October it reduced the number to around 30 million accounts – still a large number of users whose phone numbers, emails and other information were at risk.